Tuesday, April 13

It’s all officers’ domain... takeover political offices

As the penultimate nail in the coffin of Pervez Musharraf’s much-trumpeted Local Government System, the Punjab government on Wednesday appointed bureaucrats to head all tiers comprising elected representatives established under the Punjab Local Government Ordinance 2001.
The notification in this regard has been issued by the Local Government and Community Development Department, which has been done in pursuant to subsection-4 of section 179-A of the PLGO 2001. By virtue of this, the provincial government has appointed Administrators and has transferred them all powers of district governments including five City District Governments, Tehsil and Town Municipal Administrations, Nazims and Deputy Nazims of Union Councils and concerned Councils.
As per notification, the District Coordination Officers of each district have been appointed as Administrators with all powers of District Nazim, District Naib Nazim and Zila Councils, while in all the districts – except Lahore, Gujranwala, Faisalabad, Rawalpindi and Multan – concerned Deputy District Officers (Revenue) have been appointed as Administrators in rural suburbs, Tehsil Municipal Administrations and concerned District Officers (Revenue) have been appointed as Administrators in every Tehsil of district headquarter with powers of Tehsil Nazim, Naib Tehsil Nazim and Tehsil Councillor.
Similarly, Tehsil Officers (Regulations) have been appointed as Administrators of all the Union Councils falling in the jurisdiction of the Tehsil Municipal Administrations, and have been delegated the powers of Union Nazim, Naib Union Nazim and Union Councils.
According to a separate notification, administrators have been appointed in place of Town Nazims of the City District Governments, Town Nazims, Town Naib Nazims and Town Councils in Lahore, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Rawalpindi and Multan.

No comments: